Welcome to the Morgantown Police Department online handgun license application portal. This page will provide an overview of the application process and a link to get started online. ( All information provided by the Indiana State Police)

To apply for a new Indiana License to Carry a Handgun:

  • Step 1:
  • Complete a Handgun License Application online at the Indiana State Police Handgun Licensing Portal.

  • Step 2:
  • Schedule an appointment to submit your fingerprints electronically at a location convenient to you.  If you have any questions or concerns, please contact your local law enforcement agency.
  • Step 3:
  • Visit Morgantown Town Hall. Monday thru Friday from 9 am to 3 pm. Located at 120 W Washington Street, Morgantown, Indiana, 46160 within 90 days. This is where you will pay your local fees. For more information, call (812) 597-4604 or (812) 597-4626.

After you complete Step 1, you will have only 90 days to complete Steps 2 and 3. Once all of the above steps are completed, your application will be electronically transmitted to ISP for final review.

If your application is approved, your permit will be sent to you via U.S. Mail.

If your application is rejected, you will be notified via U.S. Mail and will receive instructions on how to file an appeal.

FEES:

FIVE YEAR PERSONAL PROTECTION

$30.00   STATE   FEE-METHOD OF PAYMENT EXPLAINED ON APPLICATION WEBSITE

$10.00   LOCAL FEE-CASH

$11.95     FINGERPRINT   FEE-METHOD OF PAYMENT EXPLAINED ON L1 WEBSITE

LIFETIME PERSONAL PROTECTION – CURRENT VALID GUN PERMIT LICENSE

$60.00   STATE   FEE-METHOD OF PAYMENT EXPLAINED ON APPLICATION WEBSITE

$40.00   LOCAL FEE-CASH

$11.95   FINGERPRINT FEE-METHOD OF PAYMENT EXPLAINED ON L1 WEBSITE

LIFETIME PERSONAL PROTECTION – NO CURRENT GUN PERMIT LICENSE

$75.00   STATE   FEE-METHOD OF PAYMENT EXPLAINED ON APPLICATION WEBSITE

$50.00   LOCAL FEE-CASH

$11.95     FINGERPRINT FEE-METHOD OF PAYMENT EXPLAINED ON L1 WEBSITE